Liturgical Calendar for Year C 2021-2022


The Catholic Liturgical Calendar for 2021-22 in Canada – Year C. The new Liturgical Year begins on the first Sunday of Advent, November 28, 2021.

From CCCB Publications:

The ORDO, or Liturgical Calendar, is an essential tool for bishops, priests, deacons, religious, parish staff and volunteers, liturgy committees, and school staff.

The ORDO provides detailed information and explanatory notes for each day of the Liturgical Year which begins the First Sunday of Advent and ends with the 34th Week in Ordinary time. In addition to the references to the Roman Missal, the Lectionary (for Sundays, Solemnities and Weekdays) and Liturgy of the Hours, references to the Book of Gospels and the Lectionary: Ritual Masses, Masses for Various Needs and Occasions, Votive Masses, Masses for the Dead are also included.

The ORDO is filled with Pastoral Notes indexed alphabetically by subject. The Pastoral Notes offer positive, practical and pastoral ideas and suggestions for the liturgy. Subjects include:

  • Reflections on the “Constitution on the Sacred Liturgy” Sacrosanctum Concilium
  • Catechesis and suggestions for celebrating Mass well on Sundays and in a variety of circumstances
  • Pastoral Notes for the celebration of Sacraments, including updated notes on the celebration of Matrimony, and Funerals
  • Rubrics and details governing Ritual Masses, Masses for Various Needs and Occasions and Masses for the Dead

Explanations of the National Collections, the Proper Calendar for the Dioceses of Canada, special dates for planning in 2022 and a Table of Moveable Dates are also included.

429 pages, 15 x 19 cm, wire-bound

Year of Grace Liturgical Posters and other calendars are available from Joseph’s Inspirational.

CARFLEO Liturgical Resources Resources

Description of the Liturgical Year from the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops

From 25 Questions about Signs and Symbols by Les Miller, Novalis

57. Why does the Church use different colours at different times of the year?

Advent marks the beginning of the Church year. Each year is marked by a different set of readings from the Bible in its worship. Advent is followed by Christmas, Ordinary Time, Lent, Easter and then Ordinary Time for the rest of the Church year. Each season has its own colour that we see in the cloths at church and the clothing worn by the priest:

Purple has several meanings, including suffering and penance as well as royalty. It is used during Advent and Lent, which are both times of preparation. The royalty of the cloth refers to Christ, who is our spiritual ruler.

White represents purity and holiness and is worn at the important feasts of Christmas and Easter. White is also worn at baptisms and funerals.

Green is worn during Ordinary Time, when we are not celebrating special feasts or seasons. It is the colour of living vegetation and represents life and growth.

Red is used on special occasions such as Pentecost and feast days of the saints who were martyrs. The red of Pentecost reminds us of the tongues of flame that appeared as the Holy Spirit came upon the disciples. Red is also the colour of blood shed by many of the saintly martyrs.

The colour of the robes worn by the priest is not intended to be a fashion statement. Colours have their own language and meaning. Knowing that language can help us to understand the Mass more deeply.

  • Pink or rose is worn twice a year, on the third Sunday of Advent and on the fourth Sunday of Lent. This colour represents joy. We also light a pink Advent candle on the third Sunday of Advent.
  • Gold is sometimes used at Christmas and Easter Masses to stress the special nature of this celebration.

Leave a Reply