Additional Qualifications Courses in Religious Education

The Ontario College of Teachers recognizes a three part Additional Qualifications Courses in Religious Education. (Section D) as well as Additional Basic Qualification Courses in Religious Education.

Providers

Brock University Part 1, 2

Dufferin Peel Catholic District School Board  Parts 1, 2 &Specialist

Halton Catholic District School Board  Parts 1, 2 & Specialist

Huron-Superior Catholic District School Board Part 1 & 2

Lakehead University Parts 1, 2 & Specialist

Laurentian University Part 1

Ontario English Catholic Teachers Association (OECTA) Parts 1, 2 & Specialist

Ontario Tech Parts 1, 2 & Specialist

Queen’s University Parts 1, 2 & Specialist

Regis College Parts 1, 2 & Specialist

Saint Paul University Part 1

The University of Western Ontario Parts 1, 2 & Specialist

University of Windsor 2 & Part Specialist

Wilfrid Laurier University Part 1 & 2

York Catholic District School Board Parts 1, 2 & Specialist


Course Descriptions for the Religious Education AQ Parts 1, 2 and Specialist Religious Education in Catholic Schools (scroll down to Religious Education in Catholic Schools)


Resources for Catholic Educators

Catholic Update Files

CARFLEO

  1. Catholic Association of Religious and Family Life Educators of Ontario (CARFLEO)     carfleo.com,
  2. CARFLEO on Facebook www.facebook.com/Carfleo
  3. CARFLEO on Tumblr carfleo.tumblr.com/,
  4. CARFLEO on Twitter https://twitter.com/TWEETcarfleo,
  5. CARFLEO on Pinterest http://www.pinterest.com/carfleo/
  6. CARFLEO on Instagram
  7. CARFLEO links to resources for teaching about morality

Catholic Education

  1. Catholic Curriculum Corporation- http://www.catholiccurriculumcorp.org/
  2. Eastern Ontario Catholic Curriculum Cooperative:http://www.eoccc.org/
  3. Curriculum Supports for Catholic Schools are available at http://www.eoccc.org/content/csfcs/
  4. Institute for Catholic Education (ICE) – http://www.iceont.ca/ See their monograph series on different Catholic Education issues.
  5. Archdiocese of Toronto Office of Faith Formation for Discipleship – https://www.archtoronto.org/about-us/departments-(a-n)/Office_of_Formation_for_Discipleship
  6. Ontario Catholic School Trustees’ Association (OCSTA) –http://www.ocsta.on.ca
  7. Ontario English Catholic Teachers Association (OECTA) –http://www.oecta.on.ca
  8. The Vatican vatican.va
  9. Catechism of the Catholic Church http://www.vatican.va/archive/ENG0015/_INDEX.HTM
  10. Compendium of the Catechism of the Catholic Churchhttp://www.vatican.va/archive/compendium_ccc/documents/archive_2005_compendium-ccc_en.html
  11. General Directory for Catechesis http://www.vatican.va/roman_curia/congregations/cclergy/documents/rc_con_ccatheduc_doc_17041998_directory-for-catechesis_en.html
  12. Documents of the Second Vatican Council http://www.vatican.va/archive/hist_councils/ii_vatican_council/
  13. Catholic Education Week http://www.ocsta.on.ca/resources/catholic-education-week-resources/

Organizations

  1. L’Arche –http://www.larche.ca/
  2. Canadian Catholic Bioethics Institute –http://www.ccbi-utoronto.ca/
  3. Canadian Catholic Health Association –http://www.chac.ca/
  4. Catholic Civil Rights League –http://www.ccrl.ca/
  5. Catholic Medical Association (USA) –http://www.cathmed.org/
  6. Catholic Organization for Life and Family –http://colf.cccb.ca/english/colf.htm
  7. Ontario Catholic School Boards  https://www.ocsta.on.ca/school-directory-5/
  8. Ontario Ministry of Education http://www.edu.gov.on.ca/eng/

Catholic Education Curriculum outside of Ontario

  1. Northern Ireland http://www.deni.gov.uk/index/80-curriculum-and-assessment/80-curriculum-and-assessment-religiouseducationcoresyllabus-pg.htm
  2. USA: Doctrinal Elements of a Curriculum Framework (High School) http://www.usccb.org/beliefs-and-teachings/how-we-teach/catechesis/upload/high-school-curriculum-framework.pdf
  3. South Africa https://www.cie.org.za/pages/religious-education-curriculum
  4. England and Wales http://rcdow.org.uk/att/files/education/downloads/headteachers/recd_2012.pdf

Christian Scripture Resources

  1. A Basic Vocabulary of Biblical Studies For Beginning Students – http://prophetess.lstc.edu/~rklein/Doc4/vocab.htm
  2. Bible Gateway –http://www.biblegateway.com/
  3. The New Revised Standard Version – https://bible.oremus.org/
  4. The New Testament Gateway –http://www.ntgateway.com/
  5. New Testament Overview –http://catholic-resources.org/Bible/NT_Overviews.htm
  6. Scripture from Scratch Archivehttps://web.archive.org/web/20131014004907/http://www.americancatholic.org/Newsletters/SFS/Archive.asp
  7. The Text This Week – Lectionary, Scripture Study and Worship Links and Resources –http://www.textweek.com/

Spirituality

  1. Beliefnet –http://beliefnet.com
  2. Ignatian Spirituality – https://www.ignatianspirituality.com/
  3. Lectio Divina –http://www.jesuits.ca/orientations/intro2lectio.html
  4. Henri Nouwen Society –http://www.henrinouwen.org/
  5. On Line Ministry Creighton University –http://onlineministries.creighton.edu/CollaborativeMinistry/online.html
  6. Ron Rolheiser omi –http://www.ronrolheiser.com/
  7. Joyce Rupp –http://www.joycerupp.com/
  8. Sacred Space – http://sacredspace.ie/

Liturgy and Liturgical Planning

  1. Canadian Bishops Liturgical calendar Ordo http://nlo.cccb.ca/index.php/liturgical-calendar
  2. Readings and Psalms for each Month (USCCB) – http://www.usccb.org/bible/index.cfm (Uses New American Bible lectionary. In Canada, we use the New Revised Standard Version in Catholic liturgy.

Prayers and Devotions

  1. Catholic Prayer Resource –http://www.catholic.org/prayers/ ; http://www.comeaside.com
  2. Liturgy of the Hours Apostolate – https://www.ebreviary.com/
  3. Universalis (Liturgy of the Hours) –http://www.universalis.com/
  4. World Prayers –http://www.worldprayers.org/index.html

Research Resources

  1. Canadian Catholic Bioethics Institute –http://www.ccbi-utoronto.ca/
  2. The Catechism of the Catholic Church – http://scborromeo.org/ccc.htm
  3. Catholic Organization for Life and Family –http://colf.cccb.ca/english/colf.htm
  4. Code of Canon Law – http://www.vatican.va/archive/cod-iuris-canonici/cic_index_en.html
  5. Courage (Catholic Outreach to Gay men) –http://www.couragerc.org/
  6. DignityUSA (LGBT Catholic Community) –http://www.dignityusa.org/
  7. Interfaith Unity Resource Centre –http://www.interfaithunity.ca/
  8. Richard McBrien Essays in Theology –http://www.richardmcbrien.com/
  9. New Advent – http://www.newadvent.org/
  10. Ontario Consultants on Religious Tolerance  –http://www.religioustolerance.org/
  11. Religion On-line –http://www.religion-online.org/
  12. Saints and Angels –http://www.catholic.org/saints/stindex.php
  13. Theology Library of Spring Hill College (SJ) –http://www.shc.edu/theolibrary/
  14. The Vatican –http://www.vatican.va/

Social Justice and Environment

  1. Basilians: Peace and Justice – https://www.basilian.org/our-way-of-life/justice-peace/
  2. Canadian Ecumenical Justice Initiatives –http://www.kairoscanada.org/
  3. Canadian Jesuits International –http://www.canadianjesuitsinternational.ca/index.asp
  4. Catholic Agency for Overseas Development (U.K.) –cafod.org.uk
  5. Catholic Organization for Development and Peace –http://www.devp.org/   and http://youth.devp.org/aframes.html
  6. Saint Kateri Conservation Center– https://www.kateri.org/
  7. The Catholic Labor Network – http://catholiclabor.org/
  8. Centre for Social Justice –http://www.socialjustice.org/
  9. Christian Peacemaker Teams –http://www.cpt.org/
  10. Citizens for Public Justice –http://www.cpj.ca/
  11. John Dear, S.J. –http://www.johndear.org
  12. Education for Justice –http://www.educationforjustice.org/
  13. Kairos Environment Initiative –http://www.re-energize.org/En/index.html
  14. Maquila Solidarity Network – https://www.maquilasolidarity.org/
  15. Pax Christi International –http://www.paxchristi.net/international/eng/index.php
  16. Sojourners –http://www.sojo.net/
  17. Transforming Our World:  Our Catholic Faith in Action (USCCB) –http://www.usccb.org/campus/

Catholic News Agencies

  1. America (Published by The Society of Jesus) –http://www.americamagazine.org/
  2. Catholic Exchange –http://catholicexchange.com/
  3. The Catholic Herald –http://www.catholicherald.co.uk/
  4. Catholic News Service –http://www.catholicnews.com/
  5. The Catholic Register –http://www.catholicregister.org/
  6. Catholic TV Network –http://www.catholictv.com/home.aspx
  7. National Catholic Reporter –http://ncronline.org/
  8. Prairie Messenger (Canadian) – https://www.prairiemessenger.ca/
  9. Salt and Light (video) –http://www.saltandlighttv.org/zoom_en/zoomplayer.htm
  10. The Tablet –http://www.thetablet.co.uk/
  11. US Catholic –http://www.uscatholic.org/
  12. Western Catholic Reporter (Canadian)-http://www.wcr.ab.ca/index.shtml
  13. Whispers in the Loggia –http://whispersintheloggia.blogspot.com/
  14. Zenit News-http://www.zenit.org/english/
  15. The Vatican (video) –http://www.youtube.com/vatican
  16. Vatican News https://www.vaticannews.va/en.html

Retreats/Pilgrimages

  1. Loyola House Guelph –http://www.loyolahouse.ca/
  2. Manresa Jesuit Spiritual Renewal Centre –http://www.manresa-canada.ca/
  3. Queen of Apostles Renewal Centre Mississauga –qoa.ca

Greater Toronto Area

  1. Archdiocese of Toronto –http://www.archtoronto.org/
  2. Regis College –http://www.regiscollege.ca/
  3. University of St. Michael’s College – http://www.utoronto.ca/stmikes/
  4. Office of Catholic Youth –http://www.ocytoronto.org
  5. Diocese of Hamilton – http://www.hamiltondiocese.com/

Bishops Conferences and Assemblies

  1. Assembly of Ontario Catholic Bishops – http://acbo.on.ca/
  2. Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops –cccb.ca
  3. Catholic Church in England and Wales –http://www.catholic-ew.org.uk/
  4. US National Conference of Catholic Bishops –http://www.usccb.org/

Education Resources

  1. Larry Ferlazzo’s Websites of the Day (focus on literacy)-http://larryferlazzo.edublogs.org/
  2. My Best Posts On Classroom Managementhttp://larryferlazzo.edublogs.org/2010/07/23/my-best-posts-on-classroom-management/
  3. Web 2.0 Resources http://www.edudemic.com/
  4. Lesson Plan Templates https://www.oise.utoronto.ca/mtpracticum/Forms_Resources.html
  5. Free technology for teachershttp://www.freetech4teachers.com/
  6. Kathy Schrock’s Guide to Everythinghttp://www.schrockguide.net/
  7. Project Based Learninghttp://www.bie.org/about/
  8. ASCDhttp://www.ascd.org/Default.aspx
  9. Instructional Strategies Online  https://www.spsd.sk.ca/program/online/resources/Pages/default.aspx
  10. TRIBES http://tribes.com/

World Religions, Ecumenical and Interreligious Dialogue

  1. Paulist Office for Ecumenical and Interfaith Relations –http://www.tomryancsp.org/newsletter.htm
  2. USCCB Ecumenical and Interreligious Affairs  http://www.usccb.org/issues-and-action/religious-liberty/ecumenical-and-interreligious-collaboration.cfm
  3. The Best Websites To Learn About Various Religions (& English) http://larryferlazzo.edublogs.org/2008/07/07/the-best-websites-to-learn-about-various-religions-english/
  4. World Religions Facts http://www.religionfacts.com/
  5. CLEO World Religions Videos http://www.cleo.net.uk/resources/index.php?ks=4&cur=15
  6. Islam and Islamic Study Resourceshttp://islam.uga.edu/
  7. Religion refdesk http://www.refdesk.com/factrel.html
  8. Virtual Religious Sites (Muslim) http://www.3dmekanlar.com/en/3d-religious.html
  9. Sacred Destinations http://www.sacred-destinations.com/
  10. Virtual Religion Index http://virtualreligion.net/vri/
  11. Religion News Service http://www.religionnews.com/

Leave a Reply