Websites for Catholic Educators

This compilation of resources was made for Catholic Teacher Candidates at OISE/UT. However, it may be useful for other Ontario Catholic Religious Educators. Updated March 12, 2018.

CARFLEO

  1. Catholic Association of Religious and Family Life Educators of Ontario (CARFLEO)     www.carfleo.com/,
  2. CARFLEO on Facebook www.facebook.com/Carfleo
  3. CARFLEO on Tumblr carfleo.tumblr.com/
  4. CARFLEO on Twitter https://twitter.com/TWEETcarfleo,
  5. CARFLEO on Pinterest http://www.pinterest.com/carfleo/

Catholic Education

  1. Catholic Curriculum Corporation- http://www.catholiccurriculumcorp.org/
  2. Eastern Ontario Catholic Curriculum Cooperative:http://www.eoccc.org/
  3. Curriculum Supports for Catholic Schools are available at http://www.eoccc-csfcs.org/
  4. Institute for Catholic Education (ICE) – http://www.iceont.ca/
  5. Archdiocese of Toronto Office of  Formation for Discipleship –https://www.archtoronto.org/about-us/departments-(a-n)/Office_of_Formation_for_Discipleship
  6. Ontario Catholic School Trustees’ Association (OCSTA) –http://www.ocsta.on.ca
  7. Ontario English Catholic Teachers Association (OECTA) -Catholic Resources – http://www.catholicteachers.ca/For-Your-Classroom/Catholic-Resources
  8. The Vatican vatican.va
  9. Catechism of the Catholic Church http://www.vatican.va/archive/ENG0015/_INDEX.HTM
  10. Compendium of the Catechism of the Catholic Churchhttp://www.vatican.va/archive/compendium_ccc/documents/archive_2005_compendium-ccc_en.html
  11. General Directory for Catechesis http://www.vatican.va/roman_curia/congregations/cclergy/documents/rc_con_ccatheduc_doc_17041998_directory-for-catechesis_en.html
  12. Documents of the Second Vatican Council http://www.vatican.va/archive/hist_councils/ii_vatican_council/index.htm
  13. Catholic Education Week http://www.ocsta.on.ca/resources/catholic-education-week-resources/

Organizations

  1. L’Arche –http://www.larche.ca/
  2. Canadian Catholic Bioethics Institute –http://www.ccbi-utoronto.ca/
  3. Canadian Catholic Health Association –http://www.chac.ca/
  4. Catholic Civil Rights League –http://www.ccrl.ca/
  5. Catholic Medical Association (USA) –http://www.cathmed.org/
  6. Catholic Organization for Life and Family –http://colf.cccb.ca/english/colf.htm
  7. Ontario Catholic School Boards http://www.ocsta.on.ca/school_directory/
  8. Ontario Ministry of Education http://www.edu.gov.on.ca/eng/

Catholic Education Curriculum outside of Ontario

  1. Northern Ireland http://www.deni.gov.uk/index/80-curriculum-and-assessment/80-curriculum-and-assessment-religiouseducationcoresyllabus-pg.htm
  2. USA: Doctrinal Elements of a Curriculum Framework (High School) http://www.usccb.org/beliefs-and-teachings/how-we-teach/catechesis/upload/high-school-curriculum-framework.pdf
  3. South Africa https://www.cie.org.za/pages/religious-education-curriculum
  4. England and Wales http://rcdow.org.uk/att/files/education/downloads/headteachers/recd_2012.pdf
  5. Scotland http://sces.org.uk/curriculum-for-excellence/
  6. Western Australia https://internet.ceo.wa.edu.au/ReligiousEducationCurriculum/CurriculumK-12/Pages/default.aspx
  7. Brisbane http://www.bne.catholic.edu.au/religious-education-mission/ReligiousEducationCurriculum/Pages/default.aspx
  8. Tasmania http://catholic.tas.edu.au/our-schools/curriculum/religious-education

Christian Scripture Resources

  1. A Basic Vocabulary of Biblical Studies For Beginning Students –http://www.wfu.edu/%7Ehorton/r102/ho1.html
  2. Bible Gateway –http://www.biblegateway.com/
  3. The New Revised Standard Version –http://www.devotions.net/bible/00bible.htm
  4. The New Testament Gateway –http://www.ntgateway.com/
  5. New Testament Overview –http://catholic-resources.org/Bible/NT_Overviews.htm
  6. Scripture from Scratch Archivehttps://web.archive.org/web/20131014004907/http://www.americancatholic.org/Newsletters/SFS/Archive.asp
  7. The Text This Week – Lectionary, Scripture Study and Worship Links and Resources –http://www.textweek.com/

Spirituality

  1. Beliefnet – http://www.beliefnet.com/
  2. Lectio Divina –http://www.jesuits.ca/orientations/intro2lectio.html
  3. Henri Nouwen Society –http://www.henrinouwen.org/
  4. Ignatian Spirituality – http://jesuits.ca/spirituality
  5. On Line Ministry Creighton University –http://onlineministries.creighton.edu/CollaborativeMinistry/online.html
  6. Ron Rolheiser omi –http://www.ronrolheiser.com/
  7. Joyce Rupp –http://www.joycerupp.com/
  8. Sacred Space – http://sacredspace.ie/

Liturgy and Liturgical Planning

  1. Catholic Calendar Page –http://www.easterbrooks.com/personal/calendar/select.html
  2. Ordo – http://nlo.cccb.ca/index.php/liturgical-calendar
  3. Daily Readings (USCCB) – http://www.usccb.org/bible/readings/index.cfm (Uses New American Bible lectionary. In Canada, we use the New Revised Standard Version in Catholic liturgy.

Prayers and Devotions

  1. Biblical Rosary –http://www.presentationministries.com/brochures/7DayBibleRosary.asp
  2. Catholic Prayer Resource –http://www.catholic.org/prayers/ ; http://www.comeaside.com
  3. Liturgy of the Hours Apostolate – https://www.ebreviary.com/
  4. Universalis (Liturgy of the Hours) –http://www.universalis.com/
  5. World Prayers –http://www.worldprayers.org/index.html

Research Resources

  1. Canadian Catholic Bioethics Institute –http://www.ccbi-utoronto.ca/
  2. The Catechism of the Catholic Church – http://scborromeo.org/ccc.htm
  3. Catholic Organization for Life and Family –http://colf.cccb.ca/english/colf.htm
  4. Catholic Resources for Bible, Liturgy, Art, and Theology –http://catholic-resources.org/
  5. Center for Catholic Thought (Creighton University) Podcasts –http://cucatholicctr.org/catholic-comments/podcast-archive/
  6. Code of Canon Law –http://www.vatican.va/archive/ENG1104/_INDEX.HTM
  7. Courage (Catholic Outreach to Gay men) –http://www.couragerc.org/
  8. DignityUSA (LGBT Catholic Community) –http://www.dignityusa.org/
  9. Richard McBrien Essays in Theology –http://www.richardmcbrien.com/
  10. Movies and Scripture –http://www.textweek.com/
  11. New Advent – http://www.newadvent.org/
  12. New Ways Ministry (in LBGT Catholic Community) –http://www.newwaysministry.org/
  13. Ontario Consultants on Religious Tolerance  –http://www.religioustolerance.org/ (This site is useful when looking for other religious points of view.)
  14. Religion On-line –http://www.religion-online.org/
  15. Tom Richstatter, OFM  –http://www.tomrichstatter.org/
  16. Saints and Angels –http://www.catholic.org/saints/stindex.php
  17. Theology Library of Spring Hill College (SJ) –http://www.shc.edu/theolibrary/
  18. USCCB and Movies –http://www.usccb.org/movies/
  19. The Vatican –http://www.vatican.va/

Social Justice and Environment

  1. Basilian Centre for Peace and Justice – http://www.basilian.org/News_and_Info/Publications/stirrings_en.php
  2. Bread for the World (USA) –http://www.bread.org/ 
  3. Canadian Ecumenical Justice Initiatives –http://www.kairoscanada.org/
  4. Canadian Jesuits International – http://www.canadianjesuitsinternational.ca/
  5. Catholic Agency for Overseas Development (U.K.) –cafod.org.uk
  6. Catholic Organization for Development and Peace/Caritas Canada –http://www.devp.org/   and http://youth.devp.org/aframes.html
  7. The Catholic Labor Network – http://catholiclabor.org/
  8. Center for Concern –http://www.coc.org/
  9. Centre for Social Justice –http://www.socialjustice.org/
  10. Christian Peacemaker Teams –http://www.cpt.org/
  11. Citizens for Public Justice –http://www.cpj.ca/
  12. John Dear –http://www.johndear.org
  13. Education for Justice –http://www.educationforjustice.org/
  14. Kateri.org http://www.kateri.org/
  15. Larry Ferlazzo: Best Teacher Resources for Social Justice Issues –http://larryferlazzo.edublogs.org/2008/07/01/
  16. Kairos Canada https://www.kairoscanada.org/
  17. Maquila Solidarity Network –http://en.maquilasolidarity.org/
  18. Office of Social Justice Archdiocese St. Paul … –http://www.osjspm.org/
  19. Pax Christi International –http://www.paxchristi.net/international/eng/index.php
  20. Scarboro Foreign Missions Magazine –http://www.scarboromissions.ca/Scarboro_missions_magazine/index.php
  21. Social Justice and Faith Magazine –http://www.thesocialedge.com/index.htm
  22. Sojourners –http://www.sojo.net/
  23. Transforming Our World:  Our Catholic Faith in Action (USCCB) –http://www.usccb.org/campus/

Catholic News Agencies

  1. America (Published by The Society of Jesus) –http://www.americamagazine.org/
  2. Catholic Exchange –http://catholicexchange.com/
  3. The Catholic Herald –http://www.catholicherald.co.uk/
  4. Catholic News Service –http://www.catholicnews.com/
  5. The Catholic Register –http://www.catholicregister.org/
  6. Catholic TV Network –http://www.catholictv.com/home.aspx
  7. National Catholic Reporter –http://ncronline.org/
  8. Prairie Messenger (Canadian)-http://www.prairiemessenger.ca/
  9. Salt and Light (video) –http://www.saltandlighttv.org/
  10. The Tablet –http://www.thetablet.co.uk/
  11. US Catholic –http://www.uscatholic.org/
  12. Western Catholic Reporter (Canadian)- https://www.wcr.ab.ca/
  13. Whispers in the Loggia –http://whispersintheloggia.blogspot.com/
  14. Zenit News-https://zenit.org/
  15. The Vatican (video) –http://www.youtube.com/vatican

Retreats/Pilgrimages

  1. Loyola House Guelph –http://www.loyolahouse.ca/
  2. Manresa Jesuit Spiritual Renewal Centre –http://www.manresa-canada.ca/
  3. Queen of Apostles Renewal Centre Mississauga –qoa.ca

Greater Toronto Area

  1. Archdiocese of Toronto –http://www.archtoronto.org/
  2. Regis College –http://www.regiscollege.ca/
  3. University of St. Michael`s College – https://stmikes.utoronto.ca/
  4. Office of Catholic Youth –http://www.ocytoronto.org
  5. Diocese of Hamilton – http://www.hamiltondiocese.com/

Bishops Conferences and Assemblies

  1. Assembly of Ontario Catholic Bishops –http://acbo.on.ca/englishweb/index.htm
  2. Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops –cccb.ca
  3. Catholic Church in England and Wales –http://www.catholic-ew.org.uk/
  4. US National Conference of Catholic Bishops –http://www.usccb.org/

Education Resources

  1. Larry Ferlazzo’s Websites of the Day (focus on literacy)-http://larryferlazzo.edublogs.org/
  2. My Best Posts On Classroom Managementhttp://larryferlazzo.edublogs.org/2010/07/23/my-best-posts-on-classroom-management/
  3. Free technology for teachershttp://www.freetech4teachers.com/
  4. Kathy Schrock’s Guide to Everythinghttp://www.schrockguide.net/
  5. Project Based Learninghttp://www.bie.org/about/
  6. ASCDhttp://www.ascd.org/Default.aspx
  7. TRIBEShttp://tribes.com/

World Religions, Ecumenical and Interreligious Dialogue

  1. Paulist Office for Ecumenical and Interfaith Relations –http://www.tomryancsp.org/newsletter.htm
  2. The Best Websites To Learn About Various Religions (& English) http://larryferlazzo.edublogs.org/2008/07/07/the-best-websites-to-learn-about-various-religions-english/
  3. World Religions Facts http://www.religionfacts.com/
  4. CLEO World Religions Videos http://www.cleo.net.uk/resources/index.php?ks=4&cur=15
  5. Islam and Islamic Study Resourceshttp://islam.uga.edu/
  6. Religion refdesk http://www.refdesk.com/factrel.html
  7. Virtual Religious Sites (Muslim) http://www.3dmekanlar.com/en/3d-religious.html
  8. Virtual Religion Index http://virtualreligion.net/vri/
  9. Religion News Service http://www.religionnews.com/

Leave a Reply